Grass for Namibia

‘This is unbelievably beautiful!’ exclaims one of the Jeep’s passengers on the way from the airport in Windhoek to Okahandja. ‘Everything’s so green!’ But appearances are deceptive – the former savannah is certainly green today, but it’s the green of the acacia shrubs that are overpowering the landscape. The soil below is dried out and depleted.

In Namibia, 32 million hectares of grassland have been affected by bush encroachment, losing valuable pastures for livestock and wild animals. This is more than one third of Namibia’s land area. As a result of bush encroachment, groundwater reserves cannot be completely replenished because the many bushes, particularly the hawthorn acacia (Acacia mellifera) with its widespread, shallow root network, absorb the water quicker than it can penetrate into the ground. Bush therefore prevents rainwater from reaching the underground reservoirs – the ground dries out and becomes desolate. The result is less biodiversity, reduced groundwater recharge and the deterioration of grazing land capacity. In the end, there is no escape – acacia spreads so quickly that it’s impossible to get through, neither with the Jeep nor on foot. The thorns of the acacia rip through everything that dares to confront it. Ugly scars mar the feet and legs of bush workers. The shrubs are mainly felled using an axe. Suitable tools are neither available nor useful in these inaccessible regions.

 

‘Debushing is expensive,’ dismisses one indigenous farmer. ‘It’s like buying your farm all over again!’ Nevertheless, the acacia must go in order to make space for the cultivation of grass, for instance. Grass is Namibia’s primary fodder in stock breeding. And here, at the very latest, is where Creapaper comes in. The Hennef-based company uses grass to produce a raw material to make paper and cardboard for packaging. If grass returned to Namibia, there would be so much of it that it could be used both for cattle feed and even as a raw material for grass paper, for instance. And it just so happens that neighbouring South Africa has the largest paper production on the continent.

 

The tour group of European business representatives is visiting the country at the invitation of the GIZ German Society for International Cooperation. With Professor Heck from the ifas Institute for Applied Material Flow Management in Birkenfeld as guide, the tour takes the interested entrepreneurs from Windhoek through Okahandja, Otjiwarongo and Ohorongo to Omalanga Lodge on the fringe of Etosha National Park. According to the plans of ifas, this region will host a Biomass Industrial Park (BIP).

The establishment of this BIP has ambitious objectives:
• Technological advancement in the mobilisation of biomass,
• Synergy effects between different production processes,
• Economies of scale resulting in lower costs per unit,
• Centralisation and its knock-on effect
• Product diversification.

Sounds pretty academic. Professor Heck from ifas describes it more pragmatically. ‘Where else does the opportunity exist to do something that is both economically and ecologically worthwhile whilst simultaneously bringing hope and a future to so many people?’

 

When ifas appealed for partners for the project, Creapaper didn’t need to be asked twice. ‘We are bringing our idea of grass paper to Africa,’ states Founder and CEO Uwe D’Agnone, ‘and in doing so, we help the local people – we create jobs, secure incomes, make the soil fertile again – this is social impact at its very best.’

 

The group of business representatives finish the educational trip with a workshop. A flip chart reads, ‘What will be different when we are finished:

• Restoration of agricultural land
• Secure groundwater recharge
• (Re)development of biodiversity
• Creation of jobs in farming areas
• Improvement of self-sufficiency
• Local value creation of existing resources
• Creation of biomass: fuels, construction materials, animal fodder – and raw material for grass paper

 

The days were long and tiring. ‘To tell the truth, I imagined a slightly more relaxed trip,’ smiles D’Agnone. Everyone is on first-name terms. It feels as if they’ve all known each other for a long time. In just a handful of days, strangers have become friends.

 

It’s all set to start in a few weeks. In an area the size of a football pitch, farmers are clearing the acacia to make room for indigenous grass seed. Once it’s at the right length, Creapaper will test it to see which types of grass paper and packaging it can be used to make. Uwe D’Agnone is excited. ‘Namibia is a magnificent country and the locals are pleased and proud to be part of this project. I can hardly wait to come back again!’

Source: Dr. Rainer Schrägle


Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/1/d135157337/htdocs/wp-creapaper/wp-content/themes/creapaper/single-projekt.php on line 31

Weitere Projekte

Gras für Namibia

„Das sieht unfassbar schön aus!“, sagt einer der Reisenden im Jeep auf dem Weg vom Flughafen in Windhuk nach Okahandja, „Alles so grün!“ Doch der Schein trügt – was einst Savanne war, ist heute zwar grün, aber es ist das Grün der Akazien, die das Land überwuchern. Die Böden darunter sind vertrocknet und ausgelaugt.

In Namibia sind 32 Millionen Hektar Weideland verbuscht und somit als wertvolle Weide für Viehzucht und Wildtiere verloren gegangen. Das ist mehr als ein Drittel der Landfläche von Namibia. Die Verbuschung hat zur Folge, dass die Grundwasserreserven nicht vollständig aufgefüllt werden können, weil die vielen Büsche, allen voran die Hakendornakazie (Acacia mellifera) mit ihrem weitverbreiteten flachen Wurzelnetz, das Wasser schneller aufnimmt, als dieses in den Boden dringen kann. Busch verhindert also, dass Regenwasser über den Boden in Reservoirs unter der Erde gelangt – der Boden trocknet aus und verödet. Die Folge: Einschränkung der Artenvielfalt, Minderung der Grundwasserbildung und Verschlechterung der Tragfähigkeit von Weideland. Am Ende gibt es kein Entkommen: die Akazien breiten sich so schnell aus, dass man weder mit dem Jeep noch zu Fuß durch kommt. Die Dornen der Akazien reißen alles auf, was sich ihnen entgegenstellt. Hässliche Narben zieren die Füße und Beine der Arbeiter im Busch. Das Fällen der Bäume erfolgt überwiegend mit der Axt – denn auch geeignetes Werkzeug ist weder vorhanden noch kommt es in die unzugänglichen Regionen.

 

„Debushing ist teuer“, sagt ein einheimischer Farmer. „Wie wenn man seine Farm zum zweiten Mal kauft!“ Dennoch: die Akazien müssen weg, damit wieder Platz ist für z. B. den Anbau von Gras. Denn Gras ist in Namibia das Hauptnahrungsmittel für die Viehzucht. Spätestens hier kommt Creapaper ins Spiel – denn die Firma aus Hennef produziert aus Gras einen Rohstoff zur Herstellung von Papier und Kartonagen für Verpackungen. Gäbe es in Namibia wieder Gras, wäre das gleich so viel, dass man es nicht nur als Viehfutter verwenden, sondern sogar als Rohstoff verwerten könnte – z. B. für Graspapier. Zufällig liegt im Nachbarland Südafrika die größte Papierproduktion des Kontinents.

 

Die Reisegruppe mit europäischen Wirtschaftsvertretern ist einer Einladung der GIZ Deutsche Gesellschaft für internationale Zusammenarbeit gefolgt. Unter der Leitung von Prof. Heck vom ifas-Institut für angewandtes Stoffstrommanagement in Birkenfeld führt die Tour die interessierten Unternehmer von Windhuk über Okahandja, Otjiwarango über Ohorongo bis zur Omalanga Lodge an der Grenze des Etosha Nationalparks. In dieser Region soll nach den Plänen der ifas ein Biomasse Industrie Park (BIP) entstehen.

Die Einrichtung dieses BIP hat große Ziele:
• technologischer Fortschritt in der Mobilisierung der Biomasse,
• Synergieeffekte zwischen verschiedenen Produktionsprozessen,
• Skaleneffekte, die zu niedrigeren Kosten pro Einheit führen,
• Zentralisierung und damit Sogwirkung,
• Produktdiversifizierung.

Klingt ein wenig akademisch. Prof. Heck vom ifas beschreibt es deutlich pragmatischer: „Wo hat man denn schon die Gelegenheit, etwas gleichermaßen ökonomisch wie ökologisch sinnvolles zu tun und gleichzeitig noch so vielen Menschen Hoffnung und Zukunft zu geben?“

 

Creapaper hat sofort zugesagt sich zu engagieren, als die ifas nach Partnern für das Projekt gesucht hat. „Wir bringen unsere Idee des Graspapiers nach Afrika“, sagt Gründer und CEO Uwe D´Agnone, „und helfen den Menschen vor Ort damit – schaffen Arbeitsplätze, sichern Einkünfte, machen den Boden wieder fruchtbar – das ist wirklich ’social impact‘.“

 

Die Gruppe von Wirtschaftsvertretern sitzt in einem Workshop am Ende der Bildungsreise. Auf einem Flipchart steht: „Was ist anders, wenn wir fertig sind“:

•Widerherstellung landwirtschaftlicher Nutzfläche
• Sicherung nachhaltiger Grundwasserbildung
• „Neu“-Entwicklung der Artenvielfalt
• Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen in landwirtschaftlichen Gebieten
• Verbesserung der Selbstversorgung
• Lokale Wertschöpfung von vorhandenen Ressourcen
• Biomasse entsteht: Brennstoffe, Baumaterialien, Futtermittel – und: Rohstoff für Graspapier

 

Die Tage waren lang und anstrengend. „Die Reise habe ich mir ehrlich gesagt etwas entspannter vorgestellt“, lächelt D´Agnone. Alle duzen sich. Man fühlt sich, als würde man sich schon lange kennen. Aus Fremden sind in wenigen Tagen Freunde geworden.

 

In wenigen Wochen schon geht es los. Auf der Fläche in der Größe eine Fußballplatzes roden die Farmer die Akazien und machen Platz für einheimische Grassamen – hat es dann die richtige Länge, testet Creapaper, für welche Arten von Graspapier und -Verpackungen es geeignet ist. Uwe D´Agnone ist begeistert: „Namibia ist ein wunderschönes Land und die Einheimischen arbeiten mit Stolz und großer Freude an diesem Projekt. Ich kann es kaum erwarten, wieder herzukommen!“

 
Quelle: Dr. Rainer Schrägle


Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/1/d135157337/htdocs/wp-creapaper/wp-content/themes/creapaper/single-projekt.php on line 31

Weitere Projekte