Presse & News

Grass, not wood: Coca-Cola opts for the most environmentally friendly paper in the world

Coca-Cola was one of the first companies to use grass paper cardboard, initially for practical bottle carriers for Vio organic lemonade. Now, all advertising material and labels for the organic tea-based drink Honest Tea are also made from grass paper.

Although grass paper isn’t actually edible, it’s currently on everyone’s lips. Whether as punnets for fruit or vegetables, boxes for eggs or cereals and even as lipstick packaging, grass paper packaging can now be found on practically every supermarket shelf.

And this is a good thing. The ecological added value is obvious – paper is currently made using wood or recycled paper. To make wood into paper, complex processing is required. This consumes high amounts of energy and water and results in CO2 emissions. Chemicals are also used to remove the polymer lignin, which acts as a glue in the cell walls of wood and enables trees to grow in height. Uwe D’Agnone, the inventor of grass paper, has the advantages of grass fibre on the tip of his tongue – backed by facts and figures. ‘During its production, 97% of energy requirements are saved,’ he explains. ‘For every pallet of pulp, there are 6,000 litres less water that flow through production. What’s more, CO2 emissions are 75% lower than with production using wood.’ Such figures have also impressed Coca-Cola.

The grass paper for Honest Tea products is made by the Meldorf paper mill in Tornesch. The traditional company got to grips with the new raw material at an early stage and is one of the select paper mills that already produce grass paper using their own formulas to supply renowned brands like Coca-Cola. Meldorf is proud of this. Whenever grass paper is produced, the air is filled with the heady scent of hay and freshly cut grass.

More than a dozen paper mills in Germany currently produce grass paper. But for D’Agnone, this is just the beginning. Test productions in Austria, Switzerland, Italy, France and Ireland are already on the cards. Through his company Creapaper, he is faced with floods of requests from paper mills and brand manufacturers – even today, demand is almost outstripping production of the raw material. The first industrial production plant is due to be commissioned in spring 2019. This will improve the availability of the pellets for grass paper production, albeit probably only temporarily. But with such ‘luxury problems’ as D’Agnone likes to call them, one can only smile. ‘Grass paper is something truly fantastic. It makes me extremely happy to see that after so many years of development and especially resistance from the paper sector, the concept is finally pushing through on the market and finding its way to the people!’

We’ll definitely be hearing – and seeing – a lot more of grass paper in the future.


Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/1/d135157337/htdocs/wp-creapaper/wp-content/themes/creapaper/single.php on line 31

Further news and press reports

Presse & News

Gras statt Holz: Coca-Cola setzt auf umweltfreundlichstes Papier der Welt

Coca-Cola war eines der ersten Unternehmen, die Graspapier-Kartonagen nutzten: praktische Flaschenträger für die Vio Bio-Limonade waren der Anfang. Aktuell wird sowohl das Werbematerial als auch das Etikett für das Bio-Teegetränk Honest Tea aus Graspapier hergestellt.

Graspapier kann man zwar nicht essen, aber es ist derzeit in aller Munde: ob als Schale für Obst oder Gemüse, als Eierkarton oder Müslipackung, sogar bei einem Lippenpflegestift – Graspapierverpackungen findet man in nahezu jedem Supermarktregal.

Und das ist gut so. Denn der ökologische Mehrwert liegt auf der Hand: Papier wird heutzutage aus Holz oder Altpapier hergestellt. Um aus Holz Papier zu machen, muss es aufwändig aufbereitet werden. Das kostet Energie, verbraucht viel Wasser und setzt CO2 frei. Außerdem kommt Chemie zum Einsatz, um den Zellstoff Lignin zu entfernen, der die Zellwände festigt und dem Holz ermöglicht, hoch wie ein Baum zu wachsen. Uwe D´Agnone, Erfinder des Graspapiers, hat die Vorteile der Grasfaser alle parat – in Zahlen und Fakten: „Bei der Herstellung werden 97 Prozent der benötigten Energie eingespart“, erklärt er. „Für jede Palette Zellstoff fließen 6.000 Liter weniger Wasser durch die Produktion. Und der CO2-Eintrag ist um 75 Prozent niedriger als bei der Herstellung aus Holz.“ Das überzeugt auch Coca-Cola.

Das Graspapier für die Honest Tea-Produkte produziert die Papierfabrik Meldorf in Tornesch. Der Traditionsbetrieb hat sich schon früh mit dem neuen Rohstoff beschäftigt und gehört zu den erlesenen Papierfabriken, die bereits heute mit ihren eigenen Rezepturen Graspapier herstellen und so renommierten Marken wie Coca-Cola anbieten. Meldorf ist stolz darauf: jedes Mal, wenn Graspapier produziert wird, liegt der Duft von Heu und frisch gemähter Wiese in der Luft.

Mehr als ein Dutzend Papierfabriken in Deutschland produzieren derzeit Graspapier. Für D´Agnone ist das erst der Anfang: Testproduktionen in Österreich, Schweiz, Italien, Frankreich und Irland stehen schon in seinem Terminkalender. Er und seine Firma Creapaper können sich vor Anfragen von Papierfabriken und Markenartikel-Unternehmen kaum retten – schon heute kommt man kaum mit der Rohstoff-Produktion nach. Im Frühjahr 2019 wird die erste industrielle Produktionsanlage in Betrieb genommen. Dann wird die Verfügbarkeit der Pellets für die Graspapierproduktion besser. Aber vermutlich nur vorüber gehend… Bei solchen „Luxusproblemen“, wie D´Agnone sie gerne nennt, kann er nur lächeln: „Graspapier ist etwas wundervolles. Es macht mich glücklich zu sehen, wie nach so vielen Jahren der Entwicklung und vor allem des Widerstands in der Papierbranche das Thema endlich seinen Weg in den Markt und zu den Menschen findet!“

Von Graspapier werden wir noch viel hören – und sehen.

Weitere News- & Presseberichte