Presse & News

Creapaper receives the Red Herring Top 100 Europe award for grass paper innovations

The prestigious American business magazine Red Herring has distinguished the German start-up Creapaper, a portfolio company of eCAPITAL AG, with its Top 100 Europe Award. The Hennef-based company has developed technology for the production of paper from grass. The production of the raw material known as grass paper also results in significantly lower CO2 emissions than conventional production. Water consumption is also reduced by over 95%. The first companies have already converted their packaging to grass paper.

Since 1996, the American business magazine Red Herring has distinguished promising entrepreneurs and companies with the Red Herring Top 100 Award. It is one of the world’s most renowned prizes for technologically innovative start-ups and is considered as an indicator of pioneering, entrepreneurial ideas. Facebook, Skype and the Finnish game developer Supercell are just some of the companies to have received the award before their huge economic success. In 2019, the jurors decided to honour the Hennef-based company Creapaper with the Red Herring Top 100 Europe Award. The victor was chosen from around 1,200 European start-up companies.

Creapaper has quickly established itself as a producer of an alternative raw material for the paper and packaging industry. The company uses grass as a starting point and processes it into grass pulp in the form of pellets. These replace pulp made using virgin fibres from wood or recycled paper, which are normally used in paper production. The production of grass paper results in up to 75% less CO2 emissions than conventional production. What’s more, just two litres of water are required to produce a tonne of paper. Paper made from wood or recycled paper needs 6,000 litres. Thanks to the Creapaper innovation, no chemicals are used in the raw material production either.

This ingenious, patented technology enables Creapaper to save huge amounts of resources. Despite all of the advances achieved in recent years, the paper industry is still one of the sectors with particularly high levels of energy, water and chemical consumption. The immense savings potential offered by Creapaper therefore represents a true technological breakthrough. This is one of the criteria used to select the winners of the Red Herring Award. In order to receive the magazine’s prize, a company must also have already received qualified distinctions. For Creapaper, these include the Start Green Award 2016, KfW Entrepreneur Award 2017 and the IKU Innovation Award for Climate and Environment in 2018.

The marketability of a development is also closely considered by the jury. Creapaper was able to score points here, too. Some of the companies already using grass paper for their packaging include Coca-Cola, OTTO mail order and food discounters such as REWE, Lidl and Aldi. Creapaper is currently planning its market launch in the USA and is in contact with several companies in the branded consumer goods sector, such as Starbucks and McDonalds.

The prize-giving ceremony for the Red Herring Top 100 Europe Award was held in Amsterdam at the end of February 2019. As one of the selected companies, Creapaper was also chosen to present its innovative technology to interested American investors at the Top 100 North America Event in Los Angeles in May.

Further news and press reports

Presse & News

Creapaper erhält den Red Herring Top 100 Europe für Graspapier-Innovationen

Das renommierte US-Wirtschaftsmagazin Red Herring hat das deutsche Start-Up Creapaper, ein Portfoliounternehmen der eCAPITAL AG, mit seinem Top 100 Europe Award ausgezeichnet. Das in Hennef beheimatete Unternehmen hat eine Technologie zur Papierherstellung aus Gras entwickelt. Bei der Fertigung des Rohstoffs zum sogenannten Graspapier entsteht signifikant weniger CO2 als bei konventioneller Produktion. Zudem reduziert sich der Wasserverbrauch um über 95 Prozent. Erste Unternehmen haben bereits ihre Verpackungen auf Graspapier umgestellt.

Bereits seit 1996 zeichnet das US-amerikanische Wirtschaftsmagazin Red Herring vielversprechende Unternehmer und Unternehmen mit dem Red Herring Top 100 Award aus. Er zählt zu den renommiertesten Preisen für technologisch innovative Start-Ups weltweit und gilt als Indikator für wegweisende unternehmerische Ideen. Beispielsweise wurden schon Facebook, Skype oder der finnische Spieleentwickler Supercell von der Jury mit einem Award bedacht, bevor diese ihren großen wirtschaftlichen Erfolg hatten. Im Jahr 2019 haben die Juroren das in Hennef beheimatete Unternehmen Creapaper mit dem Red Herring Top 100 Europe Award ausgezeichnet. Die Sieger wurden aus einem Kreis von rund 1.200 europäischen Start-Up-Unternehmen ausgewählt.

Creapaper hat sich in kurzer Zeit als Produzent eines alternativen Rohstoffs für die Papier- und Verpackungsindustrie etabliert. Als Ausgangsprodukt verwendet das Unternehmen dabei Gras und verarbeitet dieses zu Grasfaserstoff in Form von Pellets. Diese ersetzen Zellstoff aus Frischfasern, also Holz oder Altpapier, die normalerweise für die Papierproduktion zum Einsatz kommen. Die Herstellung des sogenannten Graspapiers setzt bis zu 75 Prozent weniger CO2 frei als konventionelle Produktion. Zudem sind zur Fertigung von einer Tonne Papier gerade einmal zwei Liter Wasser notwendig. Bei Papier aus Holz oder Altpapier sind es rund 6.000 Liter. Auch auf den Einsatz von Chemikalien kann bei der Rohstoffherstellung dank der Innovation von Creapaper verzichtet werden.

Mit dieser innovativen und patentierten Technologie schafft Creapaper die Basis, große Mengen an Ressourcen einzusparen. Trotz aller Fortschritte, die in den vergangenen Jahren erzielt wurden, gehört die Papierindustrie immer noch zu den Branchen mit einem besonders hohen Energie-, Wasser- und Chemikalienverbrauch. Das immense Einsparpotenzial, das Creapaper bietet, ist daher ein wirklicher technologischer Durchbruch. Dies ist eines der Kriterien, die in die Auswahl der Preisträger des Red Herring Awards einfließen. Darüber hinaus muss ein Unternehmen bereits qualifizierte Auszeichnungen erhalten haben, um den Preis des Magazins zu erhalten. Bei Creapaper sind dies unter anderem der Start Green Award 2016, der KfW Award Gründen 2017 und der in 2018 verliehene IKU Innovationspreis Klima und Umwelt.

Auch die Marktreife einer Entwicklung ist für die Juroren essentiell. Hier konnte Creapaper ebenfalls punkten. Zu den Unternehmen, die Graspapier bereits für ihre Verpackungen einsetzen, gehören Coca-Cola, OTTO Versand und Lebensmittel-Discounter wie REWE, Lidl und Aldi. Zurzeit plant

Creapaper den Markteintritt in den USA und steht dort unter anderem mit Markenartikelunternehmen wie Starbucks oder McDonalds in Kontakt.

Die Preisübergabe für die Red Herring Top 100 Europe fand Ende Februar 2019 in Amsterdam statt. Als eine der auserwählten Firmen wurde Creapaper zusätzlich eingeladen, im Mai seine innovative Technologie in Los Angeles beim Top 100 North America Event interessierten US-Investoren zu präsentieren.

Weitere News- & Presseberichte